Home > General
Home > Teaching and Learning > iTeach Principles  > Holistic development

Holistic development

What does it mean?

Every aspect of a child’s development should be recognised and valued in order to maximise the potential of the child. You can help them to develop knowledge, skills and dispositions across the six learning areas – Aesthetics and Creative Expression, Discovery of the World, Language and Literacy, Motor Skills Development, Numeracy, and Social and Emotional Development.

Find out more

How can you do it?

You can:
  • Provide children with opportunities to develop knowledge, skills and dispositions in the 6 learning areas
  • Design a variety of learning experiences (e.g. small and large group activities, indoor and outdoor play, classroom activities and field trips)
  • Seize teachable moments to guide children in solving problems they encounter, recognising and managing their feelings

Find out more